After the Shot

As most deer seasons come to a close it’s time to focus on the fruits of our labor – VENISON! Yes, I know this is a muzzleloader blog but I’m near certain that most people shoot muzzleloaders as a means to harvest big game and not just for target practice. So as a part of our evolution as front-stuffer enthusiasts I feel it is important to discuss what to do AFTER THE SHOT.

There is a good percentage of hunters that take their deer to the processor once it’s field dressed. If that’s you, more power to you. But as far as I’m concerned I want to be involved with every step and feel more connected to the hunt so I choose to process it myself. If you’re feeling overwhelmed by the thought of such a task, take heed. It isn’t as hard as you’d think! I’m a simple cube dweller and I was able to do it. Through the magic of Youtube I was able to learn how to identify specific cuts of the deer and package my own deer like a pro (albeit not as efficiently).

Here is a great Youtube series from Dead On Hunting showing you how to butcher your own deer. I must have watched each video six times to get the process ingrained in my head. If you get lost along the way just remember the words that a wise man once told me, “Just follow the bone!”

Good luck and good eating!

Leave a comment